69

Skip to Content

Campus Clubs & Organizations

Get involved!

Serves as a place for Christian growth and fellowship. Meetings are held once per month with free lunch, live music, and dynamic speakers.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
April Quesenberry Buchanan Hall room 104 276.964.7336 april.quesenberry@sw.edu
Brandon Hensley Buchanan Hall room 130-G 276.964.7762 brandon.hensley@sw.edu
Christopher Hess Buchanan Hall room 130-A 276.964.7664 christopher.hess@sw.edu

To provide, host, and encourage community events revolved around theatre (film, live theatre, the study of theatre arts). Promotion of social opportunities for students to experience theatre through film and live performances. Students will engage in student productions, giving them the opportunity to take part in all aspects of theatre including writing and performing.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Nyoka Muawad Russell Hall room 140 313.529.3204 nyoka.muawad@sw.edu

The leading international honor society for technology. It recognizes the academic excellence of students in fields devoted to the study of technology and the preparation of practitioners for the technology professions.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Janet Rowell Davis Hall room 232 276.964.7213 janet.rowell@sw.edu

To provide, host, and encourage community events revolving around gaming (card games, board games, video games, etc.), and to promote social and community involvement in events and gatherings pertaining to gaming.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Jacob Richardson Russell Hall room 128 276.964.7215 jacob.richardson@sw.edu

The purpose of the Honors Club is to be an outlet for honors students to serve campus-wide. The organization shall promote social and community involving events and gatherings, interactions and discussion, and lastly, collective bargaining. Membership is by invitation only

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Dr. Kimberly Austin Russell Hall room 132 276.964.7362 kimberly.austin@sw.edu
April Quesenberry Buchanan Hall B-101 (276)964-7336 april.quesenberry@sw.edu

To improve criminal justice through educational activities, fostering professionalism in law enforcement personnel, agencies, academics, and public awareness of criminal justice issues. Membership is contingent upon enrollment in a criminal justice program of study.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Jerry Stinson Tazewell Hall room 215 276.964.7203 jerry.stinson@sw.edu

To advance the science of radiographic technology and promote high standards of education and training for radiography students. Membership is contingent upon enrollment in Radiography and good academic standing.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Donna Corns Russell Hall room 120 276.964.7642 donna.corns@sw.edu
wendell.harris@sw.edu

Allows students to explore different genres of music while exposing them to diverse cultural experiences.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Dr. Joseph Trivette King Community Center room 177 276.964.7381 joseph.trivette@sw.edu
Laura Mallory King Community Center room 171 276.964.7629 laura.mallory@sw.edu

The mission of the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) – Phi Beta Lambda is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Margaret Dye Davis Hall room 230 276.964.7308 margaret.dye@sw.edu
Dr. Loretta Beavers Davis Hall room 242 276.964.7709 loretta.beavers@sw.edu

To provide opportunities for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas, lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. Membership by invitation only.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Hannah Hensley Russell Hall room 143 276.964.7208 hannah.hensley@sw.edu
Jacob Richardson Russell Hall R-128 276.964.7215 jacob.richardson@sw.edu

To bring together students who are pursuing a career path in practical nursing. Focus is geared toward promoting unity and teamwork through monetary gifts of kindness and volunteer work for children and geriatric populations and other health-related organizations.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Linda Cline Russell Hall room 110 276.964.7507 linda.cline@sw.edu
Melissa Ray Russell Hall room 108 276.964.7360 melissa.ray@sw.edu

A federally-funded program by the Department of Education that works with first-generation, low-income, and students with disabilities. Offers assistance in overcoming educational and social barriers they might face such as tutoring, counseling, and transfer services, as well as educational/cultural activities on and off campus.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Dr. Susie Mullins Buchanan Hall room 158 276.964.7231 susie.mullins@sw.edu

To provide students the opportunity to become part of one of the largest humanitarian organizations in the world, with an opportunity to make a positive impact on campus and in the community while developing skills in leadership, organization, and lifesaving skills.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
TBA

To empower future nurses through educational experiences and community service opportunities. To build strong relationships among peers and through community service in preparation for their nursing career. Membership is contingent on enrollment in the Registered Nursing program and good academic standing.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Neyia Beavers Russell Hall room 204 276.964.7659 neyia.beavers@sw.edu
Diana Cantrell Russell Hall room 201 276.964.7539 diana.cantrell@sw.edu

To offer students the opportunity to learn, design, and build robotics. The organization shall promote teamwork and real-world work experience through robotic design and competitions. Membership is open to all students regardless of program of study.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Christopher Godsey Davis Hall room 241 276.964.7276 christopher.godsey@sw.edu

SGA serves as the student body’s voice at SWCC. Comprised of 15 senators, to qualify you must also maintain a 2.0 GPA while in office and attend weekly meetings held on Thursdays from 12:15 pm to 1:05 pm. Students must apply to the association at to be considered.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Valerie Stanton Buchanan Hall room 130-I 276.964.7763 valerie.stanton@sw.edu
Brandon Hensley Buchanan Hall room 130-G 276.964.7762 brandon.hensley@sw.edu

To promote Occupational Therapy as a health profession, sponsor student activities, and provide community service. Membership is contingent upon enrollment in the OTA program and good academic standing.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Annette Looney Grundy Booth Center room 312 276.964.7643 annette.looney@sw.edu
Billie Carol Keene Grundy Booth Center room 313 276.964.7743 billie.keene@sw.edu

The 69 Adventure Team is a school-sponsored, student-led group dedicated to exploring and creating adventures in the great outdoors. The primary purpose of the 69 Adventure Team is to provide regular outdoor activities, promote interest in outdoor activities, and encourage the practice of limited-impact outdoor ethics for 69 Virginia Community College students, faculty, and staff.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Michael Brown Davis Hall room 240 276.964.7703 michael.brown@sw.edu

To engage the administration, faculty, staff, and local veterans’ support services to improve the educational experience for all SWCC student veterans and their families.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Gwendalyn Slone Buchanan Hall room 141 276.964.7363 gwendalyn.slone@sw.edu
Michael Woods michael.woods@sw.edu

The purpose of the club is to promote students involved in fundraising and volunteering at area animal shelters and veterinary clinics.

Advisor Office Number Office Phone Number Advisor Email
Terry Lambert Tazewell Hall room 212 276.964.7353 terry.lambert@sw.edu

Still can’t find what you’re looking for? You can start a club of your own! All you need is a 69 faculty or staff advisor and a minimum of 10 students to get started. Stop by the Recruitment Student Engagement Office in Buchanan Hall 101 and pick up an application for a new club.

Back to top